Resources

Who Can Perform Marriage Ceremonies?

The Clerk’s office does not have anything to do with the ordainment process and does not determine the legality of an officiant. The officiant does not register with the Clerk’s office prior to performing a marriage. To determine if you can legally perform a marriage in Florida, Refer to Florida State Statute 741.07 
Florida marriage licenses are valid for 60 calendar days from the effective date. The marriage ceremony must be performed between the effective date and the expiration date on the license within the state of Florida. If your marriage license expires regardless of the reason before you have an opportunity to use it or is lost after you receive it, you must pay the fees for a new marriage license.

Marriage License Effective Date
When at least one party is a Florida Resident, Florida Statute 741.04(5) requires a 3 day waiting period between the day the License is purchased and the day the License will become Effective for the couple to marry. For a Marriage to be valid, the ceremony must take place between the Effective date and Expiration date listed on the License.
Completing a Premarital Preparation Course and presenting the Certificate of Completion to the Clerk will waive the three day waiting period, when at least one of the applicants is a Florida Resident. This will allow the couple to marry the day they purchase the License.
When both parties are non-Florida Residents, the waiting period does not apply.

Marriage License Fee

The fee for obtaining a Marriage License is $86.00.

When both applicants complete a Premarital Preparation Course and present the Certificate to the Clerk, the fee is reduced to $61.00.

Marriage License Fee – 3 Day Waiting Period for Marriage License Effective Date
*visit the county website for current info

Premarital Preparation CourseBoth Florida Residents1 Florida Resident 1 Non Florida ResidentBoth Non Florida Residents
Course Taken$61.00 3 Day Waiting Period Waived$61.00 3 Day Waiting Period Waived$61.00 No Waiting Period for Out of State Residents
Course Not Taken$86.00 3 Day Waiting Period Mandatory   $86.00 3 Day Waiting Period Mandatory$86.00 No Waiting Period for Out of State Residents
CountyLocationContact info
Polk County
Phone: 863-534-4000
Bartow Office
255 N Broadway Avenue
Bartow, FL 33830

Lakeland Office
930 E Parker Street Room 240
Lakeland, FL 33801

Northeast Office
3425 Lake Alfred Road
Winter Haven, FL 33881
www.polkcountyclerk.net
Hillsborough County
Phone: (813) 276-8100
Edgecomb Courthouse
800 E. Twiggs Street
Room 101
Customer Service Center
Tampa, FL 33602

Old Courthouse
419 Pierce Street
Tampa, FL 33602

Plant City Courthouse
301 North Michigan Ave, Room 1071
Plant City, FL 33563

Brandon Regional Service Center
311 Pauls Drive, Suite 110
Brandon, FL 33511
NOT OPEN: Location closed until further notice

SouthShore Regional Service Center
410 30th St. S.E.
Ruskin, FL 33570
NOT OPEN: Location closed until further notice
www.hillsclerk.com
Pinellas County
Phone: (727) 464-4876
Clearwater Courthouse
315 Court St., Room 150 Clearwater, FL 33756

North County Branch Office 29582 U.S. 19 N., Room 101 Clearwater, FL 33761

St Petersburg Branch Office 545 First Ave. N., Room 153
St Petersburg, FL 33701

Clerk’s Tyrone Branch Office 1800 66th St. N.
St Petersburg, FL 33710
www.mypinellasclerk.org
Pasco County
E. Pasco Government Center
14236 6th Street, Suite 201
Dade City, FL 33523
Phone: (352) 521-4408

W. Pasco Government Center
8731 Citizens Drive, Suite 220
New Port Richey, FL 34654
Phone: (727) 847-8086
www.pascoclerk.com

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: